simple pleasures (1)

Today was the first snow of the year.  This is a big deal for numerous reasons: first, I think it’s the latest first snow I’ve ever experienced (e.g. last year it was October 12).  Second, it’s really pretty.  Third, it gives you an instant conversation topic so awkward moments can be avoided today.  And fourth, nobody’s prepared for it so it makes for an…interesting afternoon.  So, despite the fact that it took me 59 minutes to get home on the shuttle today (i.e. it took 40 minutes to drive 7 blocks), and despite the fact that I wore inappropriate shoes and froze my feet walking home, and despite the fact that I live in the middle of a city and therefore have no yard in which to make a snow angel, I dedicate this post to the beautifulness (that’s a word, yes?) of the first snowfall.  happy winter (:

Leave a Reply

