what I like to call productive

The following is the product of my Monday evening and my Wednesday morning:

A chocolate cake, made from scratch (recipe from the chapter “better with chocolate” in the book A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg) and frosted with Better Homes and Gardens “Creamy White Frosting.”

I got A Homemade Life from a friend for Christmas.  It’s been my nighttime reading for the past few days, and I’m so glad: it’s absolutely a gem.  I particularly enjoyed this passage: “To most people, I guess, turning twenty-one is all about booze.  To me, turning twenty-one was all about coconut.  Booze is nice, but coconut is chewable, and when push comes to shove, I will always like eating better than drinking.  Everyone has their priorities.”

It was one of those moments where I said, out loud, to Molly Wizenberg, “ME TOO!” My turning 21 was all about Indian food, brownies, and ice cream.  I mean, at the end of my 21st, my friends and I were flat on our backs on the couches in the common room groaning and clutching our stomachs from being complete gluttons (what with eating at Chapati, the best restaurant in the world, and following that up with a giant heart-shaped homemade brownie and of course cake-batter ice cream, which was on special in the coffeeshop at my school that day).  So I too am one of those people that will probably always like eating more than drinking.  (I do really like eating.  As a side note, it’s my new goal to like all foods…I’m still having trouble with olives.)

ANYWAY, on Monday, I tried out the chocolate cake recipe from that book (instead of watching House reruns and doing homework) — an excellent life choice.  Also, the frosting is shortening-based — not an excellent life choice in terms of trans fat content. But, in my opinion, if you’re going to eat dessert, you might as well EAT DESSERT, actually enjoy it in all its full-fat glory!  (This is another point on which Molly Wizenberg and I seem to agree).  And it doesn’t really look perfect: there are crumbs in the frosting and frosting all over the plate, and I couldn’t get that cool swirl effect they showed in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, but I sort of like how it’s messy.  There’s kind of a cookies-and-cream look going on.  And it looks…homemade.

2 thoughts on “what I like to call productive

  1. Hmmm….I’d love a bite of that cake. Did you flavor that frosting with something? I’m totally with you on the food thing. I would MUCH rather eat my calories than drink them!

Leave a Reply

