the joys of baked goods.

My life at the moment is lacking in humor and irony, so I’m going to write several paragraphs about dessert and stuff.  Hope that’s cool with you.

Have I ever told you that I like to bake stuff?

Yes?

Ah.  Well, I’m going to tell you again: I like to bake stuff.  True confessions: last night, I baked all night.  It was Thursday.  I could have gone out, or I could have studied, or I could have caught up on all the Modern Family I’ve missed lately.  But instead, I made falafels, chocolate  banana bread, and chocolate chip cookies.  (Side note: the chocolate banana bread?  My favorite thing I’ve baked in 2011 so far.  And that’s saying something).

Also, I’m going to share a recipe with you.  Make these.  Seriously, make them.  If you’re thinking “I don’t bake,” stop that.  These are super, super easy, and they will impress all your friends.  I promise.

They’re called Swedish brownies:

Step 1:  crack 4 eggs in bowl.  Add 2 cups sugar, and beat well with an electric mixer.

Step 2: add 2 cups flour, 1/4 tsp salt, 2 tsp almond extract, and 1 cup (2 sticks) melted butter.  Mix well.

Step 3:  pour the whole mess into a greased 9×13 pan. Bake at 325 for 30 minutes (I usually have to keep them in a tiny bit longer).  Sprinkle with powdered sugar.  Cut into squares and enjoy.  Try to share.

Happy Friday/royal wedding day/119th day of 2011!

Leave a Reply

