“count your blessings, count ’em: one, two, three.”

All of a sudden the summer is gone.  How did this happen?  Perhaps I slept it away…or read, or tv-watched, or zumba-ed or socialized or baked or learned or sang it away…but however it happened, summer, and (consequently) my free nights and weekends, are definitely gone.

But then I think about it, and a lot of good stuff went down this summer.  I hung out on a lake in South Dakota over the fourth of July.  I had a bonfire.  I ate a lot of ice cream.  I survived my first-ever earthquake (really), made vegan chocolate cupcakes, and saw Wicked.  I went to my first ever midnight showing of a movie (Harry Potter, of course).  I went to an amusement park.  I got caught outside in torrential downpours twice.  I grew a beautiful basil plant (and a slightly more sad-looking parsley plant).  I went to two baseball games and two art museums.  I got to spend time with old friends and make some new ones.  I practiced my Spanish.  I made sandwiches and served them to homeless folks.  I went to the public library (for fun!).  I learned things about biostatistics and genomics, like how to use Python, what a .fastq file looks like, how to properly do 75th-percentile normalization, and how to make a website.  And I realized that the best days involve no hurries and simple pleasures, like green pepper pizza and wonderful friends, or a game of bananagrams and your far-away family in town for a visit.

This reminds me of a line in a song by Sister Hazel.  It’s from the song “Strange Cup of Tea,” and it’s the title of this post.  (Maybe it seems silly or trite, but it could be cooler if you sing the words in your head.  Or maybe not…what do I know about cool?  I like math and I still wear boot-cut jeans.  But I do love that line.)  So I say…bring it on, fall.  Hit me with your best.  Perhaps we can begin with game night and whole wheat oatmeal banana muffins.

Leave a Reply

